Lyric Opera's Don Giovanni | Lyric Opera House | Classical | Chicago Reader
This is a past event.

Lyric Opera's Don Giovanni All Ages Recommended Soundboard

When: Sat., Sept. 27, 7:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 30, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Oct. 2, 2 p.m., Sun., Oct. 5, 2 p.m., Wed., Oct. 8, 2 p.m., Thu., Oct. 9, 7:30 p.m., Tue., Oct. 14, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Oct. 17, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Oct. 24, 2 p.m. and Wed., Oct. 29, 7:30 p.m. 2014
Price: $20-$249
Mozart’s Don Giovanni was the first production of Lyric Opera’s first year, back in 1954, so it’s a nostalgic choice to open the diamond anniversary season. This 18th-century comic drama about a peripatetic serial seducer has seen numerous Lyric productions in the interim, but never one like this. Goodman Theatre artistic director Robert Falls, moonlighting in the Lyric director’s chair, has moved the story forward in time, setting it in 1920s Spain to better explore what he sees as the darkly modern psychology of its antihero. Falls says this “violent and sexy” version of Don Giovanni will be a “roller-coaster experience” for the audience. The music is gorgeous, and the scene that was part of Lyric’s Millennium Park concert a few weeks ago suggests that the vocal performances will be up to the usual standards. Baritone Mariusz Kwiecień has the title role; Ana María Martínez, Andriana Chuchman, and Marina Rebeka (who sang beautifully through a cold at Pritzker) are his prey. Andrew Davis conducts the Lyric Opera orchestra and chorus. —Deanna Isaacs

Map

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Search Events…

Nearby

History