I Heart Hamas: And Other Things I'm Afraid To Tell You | Prop Thtr | Theater & Performance | Chicago Reader
This is a past event.
ce45da3a7489f42813d30e3d56a3932d-reduced.jpg

I Heart Hamas: And Other Things I'm Afraid To Tell You 

When: Fri., April 30, 8 p.m., Sat., May 1, 8 p.m., Sun., May 2, 3 p.m., Thu., May 6, 8 p.m., Fri., May 7, 8 p.m., Sat., May 8, 8 p.m., Sun., May 9, 3 p.m., Thu., May 13, 8 p.m., Fri., May 14, 8 p.m., Sat., May 15, 8 p.m. and Sun., May 16, 3 p.m. 2010
Phone: 773-539-7838
Price: $15-$30
ihearthamas.com
Jennifer Jajeh's solo show about being a Palestinian-American is gentler and less radical than its title might suggest. The first act is basically a standup comedy routine, dealing with frustrations that bedevil many hyphenate Americans--i.e., the wishes of traditionalist elders and the insulting assumptions of clueless strangers. The second act shows how a year and a half spent living in the West Bank pushes Jajeh's views to extremes, but even she is appalled by how ugly her thoughts about Israeli soldiers become. Though her unflinching honesty is admirable, her storytelling could use some work. Even the best bits--including one about inheriting a Jewish cat--suffer from a lack of focus, timing, and concision. --Zac Thompson

Map

Reviews/comments (6)
4.8 out of 5

Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a review

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Search Events…

Nearby

History