Dine | West Loop/Fulton Market | American | Restaurant
Upscale 40s-style dining club in the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro hotel serving three squares.

Our Review

At Dine, it's still 1940. There's a zinc bar with a flotilla of martini glasses; even the silverware has a nostalgic clang. The dish that epitomizes the neo-retro menu is the wedge salad, a quarter head of iceberg lettuce atop a pool of blue cheese dressing with capers, grape tomatoes, and a slice of bacon on the side. The rest of the menu is similarly nostalgic: meat loaf with mashed potatoes, fried chicken, sides like mac 'n' cheese and sauteed spinach. Appetizers include calamari and a delicious leek-and-Gorgonzola tart, but it was my main dish that stole the show: a juicy New York strip steak. For dessert what else but Dine's signature red velvet cake? Dining at Dine can be languid: we arrived at 5:45 to a nearly empty restaurant and didn't walk out the door until 8. It ain't cheap either—we did the full monty and ended up dropping two bills.

Chip Dudley

Features: , , , , , , , , , ,

Price: $$$$
Payment Type: American Express, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Map

Reviews/comments (2)
3.4 out of 5

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a review

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Past Events

  • New Year's Eve at Dine

    • Thu., Dec. 31 2009
  • August Specials from Dine

    • Sat., Aug. 1, 5 p.m., Sun., Aug. 2, 5 p.m., Mon., Aug. 3, 5 p.m., Tue., Aug. 4, 5 p.m., Wed., Aug. 5, 5 p.m., Thu., Aug. 6, 5 p.m., Fri., Aug. 7, 5 p.m., Sat., Aug. 8, 5 p.m., Sun., Aug. 9, 5 p.m., Mon., Aug. 10, 5 p.m., Tue., Aug. 11, 5 p.m., Wed., Aug. 12, 5 p.m., Thu., Aug. 13, 5 p.m., Fri., Aug. 14, 5 p.m., Sat., Aug. 15, 5 p.m., Sun., Aug. 16, 5 p.m., Mon., Aug. 17, 5 p.m., Tue., Aug. 18, 5 p.m., Wed., Aug. 19, 5 p.m., Thu., Aug. 20, 5 p.m., Fri., Aug. 21, 5 p.m., Sat., Aug. 22, 5 p.m., Sun., Aug. 23, 5 p.m., Mon., Aug. 24, 5 p.m., Tue., Aug. 25, 5 p.m., Wed., Aug. 26, 5 p.m., Thu., Aug. 27, 5 p.m., Fri., Aug. 28, 5 p.m., Sat., Aug. 29, 5 p.m., Sun., Aug. 30, 5 p.m. and Mon., Aug. 31, 5 p.m. 2009

Nearby