Cathleen Schine | Book Cellar | Literary Events | Chicago Reader
This is a past event.

Cathleen Schine 

When: Thu., July 25 2013
In the vein of Just Kids, Patti Smith's memoir about her friendship with Robert Mapplethorpe, with her ninth novel Cathleen Schine (The Love Letter, The New Yorkers) has sketched a couple mangy young adults living in Manhattan in the mid-1960s—only these ones have trust funds and even more free time on their hands. Fin & Lady opens in 1964 on two orphaned half-siblings, 24-year-old Lady and 11-year-old Fin, whose mother has just died. Fin moves from his home in rural Pomfret, Connecticut, to live with beautiful, enigmatic Lady in Greenwich Village. There his life dissolves into a whirl of ice cream cones and Chinese food, subway rides for kicks, and trips to the Empire State Building. Lady teaches Fin to blow smoke rings and make martinis for her and her guests—a cast of suitors from well-to-do families of the east coast and Europe. Continue reading >>

Map

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Search Events…

Nearby

History