Loop | Events | Calendar | Chicago Reader

Events

Loading...
  • Detail View
  • List View
  • Grid View
30 results

The Magic Parlour

Through 7/1: Fri 7:30 and 9:30 PM, Sat 4:30, 7:30, and 9:30 PM
Palmer House Hilton 17 E. Monroe St., Chicago Loop


This magic show is exactly what it should be: funny, lively, intimate, and utterly baffling. House Theatre of Chicago member Dennis Watkins blends quick-witted improv and physical comedy with freewheeling patter as he performs classic illusions. Though his sleight of hand is impossibly subtle, it was the mind-reading tricks that seemed to have drawn several inquisitive skeptics back for another look on the night I attended. A curio-shop intimacy encourages audience participation, and Watkins, with his Eagle Scout looks, clearly takes a mischievous pleasure in the unexpected. Just let your cell phone go off during the show and see what kind of fun he has. Drinks (wine, beer, and soda) are included in the cost of admission. —Keith Griffith 312-726-7500

Lyric Opera's Elektra

Fri., Feb. 22, 7 p.m.
Lyric Opera House 20 N. Wacker Dr., Chicago Loop


312-827-5600

Oberon Ensemble

Sun., Feb. 24, 2 p.m.
Fullerton Hall, Art Institute of Chicago 111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Loop


312-443-3600

Beatrice Rana

Sun., Feb. 24, 3 p.m.
Symphony Center 220 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Loop


Piano. 312-294-3000

Lyric Opera's La Traviata

Sun., Feb. 24, 2 p.m.
Lyric Opera House 20 N. Wacker Dr., Chicago Loop


312-827-5600

Lindsay Garritson

Wed., Feb. 27, 12:15 p.m.
Preston Bradley Hall, Chicago Cultural Center 78 E. Washington St., Chicago Loop


Piano. 312-744-6630

First Monday

Open run: the first Mon of each month, 12:15 PM
Chicago Cultural Center 78 E. Washington St., Chicago Loop


Abandon your regular lunchtime smoke break, nap, or illicit tryst for something a bit classier. Join the Chicago Chamber Musicans as they present First Monday, a monthly lunch-hour concert series. —Jamie Keiles 312-744-6630

Body/Head

Thu., March 7, 7:30 p.m.
Art Institute of Chicago 111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Loop

Buy Tickets


312-443-3600

Joe Bonamassa

Fri., March 8, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Mariah Carey

Mon., March 11, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Gary Clark Jr.

March 15-16, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy Tickets


312-462-6300

Experience Hendrix

Fri., March 22, 7:30 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy Tickets


312-462-6300

Massive Attack

Sat., March 23, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy Ticketssold out


312-462-6300

Kacey Musgraves

Mon., March 25, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Jose Gonzalez & the String Theory

Thu., March 28, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Dream Theater

Fri., March 29, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Amos Lee

Sat., March 30, 7:30 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Nick Mason's Saucerful of Secrets

Thu., April 4, 7:30 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Perfume

Fri., April 5, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Van Morrison

Wed., April 24, 7 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Rise Against, Face to Face

Sun., April 28, 7:30 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


312-462-6300

Al Green

Tue., May 7, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


on sale Fri 2/22, 10 AM 312-462-6300

Stephen Malkmus

Wed., May 8, 7 p.m.
Art Institute of Chicago 111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago Loop

Buy Tickets


on sale Fri 2/22, 10 AM 312-443-3600

Rodrigo Y Gabriela

Fri., May 24, 7:30 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy Tickets


312-462-6300

David Gray

Thu., June 13, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy Tickets


312-462-6300

Lord Huron, Bully

Fri., July 26, 8 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy Tickets


312-462-6300

Bryan Ferry

Thu., Aug. 1, 7:30 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy Tickets


312-462-6300

Mark Knopfler

Sun., Sept. 1, 7:30 p.m.
Chicago Theatre 175 N. State St., Chicago Loop

Buy Tickets


312-462-6300

King Crimson

Tue., Sept. 10, 8 p.m.
Auditorium Theatre 50 E. Congress Pkwy., Chicago Loop

Buy from Ticketmaster


800-982-2787