Friday, January 11, 2013

Community Media Workshop announces its newest Studs Terkel Award winners

Posted By on 01.11.13 at 06:45 AM

Megan Cottrell
  • Megan Cottrell
The 2013 winners of the Studs Terkel Community Media Award were announced this morning by the Community Media Workshop. They are:

Megan Cottrell, a reporter/blogger for the Chicago Reporter

Fernando Diaz, manager editor of Hoy Chicago

Dave Hoekstra, a reporter for the Sun-Times

The Terkel awards, launched in 1994, "honor outstanding media professionals for excellence in covering and reflecting Chicago’s diverse communities." And as that sounds stuffy, the CMW website also puts it this way:

We honor journalists who go the extra mile to report news "from the people who made Chicago, news that's bottom up rather than up, down," as Studs said at our 2007 awards event. "That's what this is all about."

The Terkels will be given out on March 14.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

More by Michael Miner

Agenda Teaser

Performing Arts
Don Quichotte Civic Opera House
November 23
Performing Arts
End of the Rainbow Stage 773
November 17 1

Tabbed Event Search

The Bleader Archive

Popular Stories